Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

David Bowie

The 'Mercury' Demos


Mono LP in replica tape box + photos + contact sheets

Released: 28th Jun 2019


Extraordinary off the cuff demos from the Thin White Duke.

The “Mercury" Demos’ are 10 early Bowie recordings captured live in one take to a Revox reel to reel tape machine in David’s flat in spring 1969, with accompaniment from John ‘Hutch’ Hutchinson on guitar and vocals In addition to Bowie originals, the session also includes the Roger Bunn composition ‘Life Is A Circus’ (which features in an earlier demo version on the ‘Clareville Grove Demos’ set) and the Lesley Duncan composition ‘Love Song’ later recorded by Elton John for his ‘Tumbleweed Connection’ album. David’s own ‘Conversation Piece’ is announced as ‘a new song’ and ‘Janine’ features a short nineteen second section sung to the melody of The Beatles’ ‘Hey Jude’.

The 'Mercury' Demos

  1. Space Oddity
  2. Janine
  3. An Occasional Dream
  4. Conversation Piece
  5. Ching-a-Ling
  6. I’m Not Quite (aka Letter to Hermione)
  7. Lover To The Dawn
  8. Love Song
  9. When I’m Five
  10. Life Is A Circus