Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.


abandoned city



Released: 17th Mar 2014


ltd 2cd incl. "I close my eyes" ep

Released: 17th Mar 2014


out of stock


Released: 17th Mar 2014


These compositions awaken the loneliness & unattainable romance of timeless, unfamiliar places, with cinematic melodies full of resonant overtones, bright cheerful keyboard patterns & dark percussive touches.

The music is dark, but in a quiet, uplifting way. The piano is singing the melody but, because of the effects, you can’t hear it directly. The songs were recorded using 9 microphones. 6 recorded the sounds coming from the piano strings through an analogue console feeding directly into a computer to preserve the instrument’s full, warm sound. 3 others passed the tones through a mixer full of effects – delay, distortion, echo. Hauschka creates the music and the arrangements as he goes, trusting the music to take him in the proper direction.

abandoned city


  1. Elizabeth Bay
  2. Pripyat
  3. Thames Town
  4. Who Lived Here?
  5. Agdam
  6. Sanzhi Pod City
  7. Craco
  8. Barkersville
  9. Stromness
  10. disc 2 (ltd 2cd only)
  11. I am walking
  12. From house to house
  13. Into an empty mall
  14. Can you dance for me
  15. Until its dawn
  16. They made us leave
  17. Hope they come back
  18. My family lived here
  19. In happysadness
  20. Where am I when I am old