Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.



temporary residence ltd.

lp + download (plus live album download)

Released: 10th Jul 2015


A NDO C Y is a continuation of the Abandoned City story, told as a tale of two sides.

Side A features five tracks conceived during the Abandoned City sessions, a suite of songs that together form an exceptionally resonant whole. As with Abandoned City, these songs owe as much to minimalist techno as modern composition, which makes them particularly conducive to remixes. On Side B, experimental folk icon Devendra Banhart distills Abandoned City standout, "Agdam", to barely-there, fractured clusters of solitary piano strikes and swelling synths. By comparison, Eluvium's transformation of "Stromness" sounds almost shockingly euphoric, all cascading waves of distortion washed over a plethora of plucked piano pings. Included as a special bonus download is a stunning live album recorded in Yufuin, Japan in late 2014. The 40-minute performance is split into two 20-minute improvisations built on themes from Abandoned City. It's a gorgeous glimpse of live Hauschka, a world where songs you think you know become entirely new works of art at the mercy of Bertelmann's whims.



  1. Hashima Island
  2. Palace in the Sky
  3. Varosha
  4. North Brother Island
  5. El Hotel Del Saito
  6. Agdam (Devendra Banhart Remix)
  7. Stromness (Eluvium Remix)