Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

Courtney Barnett

The Double EP: A Sea of Split Peas



Released: 18th Nov 2013


out of stock

2lp + download

Released: 9th Dec 2013


this introduction to the aussie's captivating storytelling, slacker-outsider-pop is a vivid display of the incomparable new talent’s magic.

like kimya dawson, sharon van etten & sheryl crow all hanging out in a bedroom listening to pavement, nirvana & the lemonheads. the collection is a record of 2 halves & collates her story so far, beginning with 6 brand new songs & backed with 6 older tracks from her 2012 debut EP, 'Together'. selected highlights include the astonishing ‘Avant Gardener’, a hookladen fug of country roots & discordant psychedelia with a dreamlike narrative ; the gorgeous & woozy piano-strewn opener ‘Out Of The Woodwork’, which shows the darker side of her writing ; ‘Anonymous Club’ sees Courtney at her romantic, melancholic best ; & the infectious, Dylan-esque cavalcade that is ‘History Eraser’. highly recommended.


The Double EP: A Sea of Split Peas

  1. Out Of The Woodwork
  2. Don’t Apply Compression Gently
  3. Avant Gardener
  4. History Eraser
  5. David
  6. Anonymous Club
  7. Lance Jr.
  8. Are You Looking After Yourself
  9. Scotty Says
  10. Canned Tomatoes (Whole)
  11. Porcelain
  12. Ode To Odetta