Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

Hooton Tennis Club

big box of chocolates



Released: 21st Oct 2016


lp + download

Released: 21st Oct 2016


If their debut album was the band’s sprightly statement of intent, this feels like their coming-of-age - a record that retains all the colour and invention of their debut, while being elevated by richer instrumentation and lyrics that hint at slightly heavier themes.

Love, loss, nihilism and the ‘non-spaces’ of Northern England make for mature subject matters, all delivered in the band’s typically laconic, bittersweet style, like a Mersey-Beat Murakami. The dozen tracks continue the band’s knack of combining catchy off-kilter riffs with droll storytelling, straddling optimism and uncertainty with their lyrics, whether singing about their internal worlds or commenting on a motley cast of characters. Songs of personality and substance from the Wirral men.

big box of chocolates

  1. Growing Concerns
  2. Bootcut Jimmy The G
  3. Bad Dream (Breakdown on St. George’s Mount)
  4. Sit Like Ravi
  5. Katy-Anne Bellis
  6. O Man, Won’t You Melt Me
  7. Statue Of The Greatest Woman I Know
  8. Meet Me At Molly Bench
  9. Lauren, I’m In Love!
  10. Frostbitten In Fen Ditton
  11. Lazers Linda
  12. Big Box Of Chocolates