Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

blind willie mctell

The Rough Guide to Blind Willie McTell

world music network


Released: 20th Apr 2018


lp + download

Released: 26th Oct 2018


Highlighting his diverse repertoire of songs ranging from ragtime and hokum to traditional blues and gospel, this retrospective showcases the blues legend’s exquisite voice and sublime talent for the twelve-string guitar, Lovingly remastered using pioneering restoration techniques.

“Nobody can sing the blues like Blind Willie McTell” sang Bob Dylan in his 1983 heartfelt dedication to the Atlanta bluesman - Blind Willie McTell was the King of Georgia Blues who channelled the musical mosaic of the nation Classic tracks characterised by the incredible interplay between his warm, smooth voice and fluid guitar technique. this collection of tracks lays bare both the personality and musical brilliance of this most remarkable of pre-war blues artists. An inspiration to countless guitarists, with his incredibly original guitar arrangements. McTell is forever immortalised in these classic country blues recordings.

The Rough Guide to Blind Willie McTell


  1. Southern Can Is Mine
  2. Broke Down Engine Blues
  3. God Don’t Like It
  4. Stomp Down Rider
  5. Love Changing Blues
  6. Georgia Rag
  7. Statesboro Blues
  8. Come On Around To My House Mama
  9. Searching The Desert For The Blues
  10. Mama, ‘Tain’t Long Fo’ Day
  11. Travelin’ Blues
  12. It’s Your Time To Worry
  13. Hillbilly Willie’s Blues
  14. Mama, Let Me Scoop For You
  15. Scarey Day Blues
  16. Atlanta Strut
  17. Lord, Send Me An Angel
  18. Three Women Blues
  19. It’s A Good Little Thing
  20. Lay Some Flowers On My Grave
  21. Razor Ball
  22. Drive Away Blues
  23. Warm It Up To Me
  24. Talking To Myself
  25. Dark Night Blues