Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

Odetta Hartman

Old Rockhounds Never Die

Memphis Industries


Released: 10th Aug 2018


180gram lp + download

Released: 10th Aug 0208


limited 180gram Red LP + Download

Released: 10th Aug 2018


her sophomore is a masterpiece: a genre-fluid record that borrows whatever it needs to best serve the song in as imaginative & engaging a way as possible.

Inchoate punk & hip-hop were aural wallpaper in her youth, as was her dad’s extensive collection of soul & afrobeat records, & her Appalachian mother’s classic country selections. A classically trained violinist with a penchant for back-porch banjo, Odetta combines these variegated sounds of her childhood with her personal passion for folk music & the musicological legacy of Alan Lomax. It makes for a strangely intimate listen. The mix of manipulated 21st century beats & the musical traditions of centuries meet at a crossroads & consummate their curiosity without inhibition. fans of lump, Rhiannon giddens, flo Morrissey & karl blau should check this out. “gorgeous second album from gifted new Yorker” 9/10 – uncut.

Old Rockhounds Never Die

  1. Old Rockhounds
  2. Cowboy Song
  3. You You
  4. Widow's Peak
  5. Sweet Teeth
  6. Auto
  7. Honey
  8. Smoke Break
  9. The Ocean
  10. Spit
  11. Freedom
  12. Misery
  13. Dettifoss
  14. Carbon Copy
  15. (Still Alive)