Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.


Lucifer is A Flower



Released: 12th Jun 2020


limited red lp + bonus 7" + obi strip

Released: 12th Jun 2020


out of stock


Released: 12th Jun 2020


Lucifer Is A Flower is the final album from the legendary Black Devil.

His story is as deep and strange as the music itself. His first album ‘Black Devil Disco Club’ is one of the most enigmatic electronic masterpieces ever made. So ahead of it’s time that no one could believe it was made in 1977 (released 1n 1978). Many thought it was a hoax and that the music was made by Aphex Twin or Luke Vibert but when Lo Recordings released the ‘28 After’ album in 2006, the truth was finally revealed. Black Devil was the alter ego of Bernard Fevre, a French composer of electronic library music including the magnificent ‘Strange World Of Bernard Fevre’. Bernard grew up and worked in Paris, and it was the African clubs and rhythms that inspired him to make the ‘Disco Club’ album. With only a small arsenal of electronic keyboards, a vocoder and looped conga drums he made music that transcends time. Fast forward to 2020 and the final Black Devil release. ‘Lucifer Is A Flower’ is every bit as enigmatic, inventive and inspiring as it’s title suggests. A kaleidoscopic ride into the mind of a musical master. Beautifully packaged with design by Non Format that includes pictures of the devil as a young man, it’s a fitting tribute to a career that has spanned over 40 years of divine and diabolical genius.

Lucifer is A Flower

  1. Sweet Sins
  2. Synth Is Not Love
  3. Caresse Un Opossum
  4. Ah Am Alone
  5. Berliner Atoll
  6. Six Six Sex
  7. Bossa Snooze
  8. Devil Charmed
  9. Black Devil – Love is Not Synth – Creepshow Remix (bonus 7" only)
  10. Black Devil – Love is Not Synth – Benge Dub (bonus 7" only)