Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

Cherry Ghost

Cherry Ghost : Live at The Trades Club - January 25 2015 (rsd 20)

heavenly recordings

record store day 2020 - 2LP

Released: 29th Aug 2020


A career spanning live performance of Cherry Ghost released for the first time.

As the final act before their hiatus – coming after three critically praised albums in a decade - ‘Live at the Trades Club Hebden Bridge’ is Cherry Ghost performing an intimate, starkly arranged set at the 2015 Heavenly Weekender. Released now for the first time – on double vinyl and download – this is perhaps the best realised collection of songs from Cherry Ghost, the alias of the Ivor Novello award-winning songwriter Simon Aldred. The instrumentation – Aldred is joined on keyboards and light percussion by Christian Madden and Grenville Harrop – brings to the fore Aldred’s peerless songwriting, his oak-aged, prematurely wisened baritone. ‘History’ wrote the Quietus in 2014, ‘will be kind to Aldred’, and this collection proves exactly that – with a bit of time and distance, the songs presented here show a highly singular, highly accomplished songwriter, aspiring to the pop classicism of Glen Campbell or Bill Callahan. All of human life is here – tracking a drizzly Northern gothic of last bus loneliness, late-night Spars, solitary drinkers, factory floors and Gods that betray. And yet, there’s more than meets the eye. There’s magnetic renderings of his best known songs - ‘4AM’, ‘People Help the People’, the soaring ‘Mathematics’ - but surprises reveal themselves. ‘All I Want’ and ‘Herd Runners’ candidly examine Aldred’s sexuality, whilst the seldom heard bside ‘Bad Crowd’ reveals Aldred to be a much funnier songwriter than remembered. What runs right through Aldred’s work, however, is a yearning – a much tested faith in romance – so no wonder that the album ends on its most optimistic notes, at the darkest point of winter nestled in the West Yorkshire valleys, promising clear skies ever closer. 1500 for uk & ireland

Cherry Ghost : Live at The Trades Club - January 25 2015 (rsd 20)

  1. Drinking for Two
  2. Herd Runners
  3. 4am
  4. Fragile Reign
  5. Sacramento
  6. Thirst For Romance
  7. My God Betrays
  8. Throw Me To The Dogs
  9. All I Want
  10. False Alarm
  11. Bad Crowd
  12. Please Come Home
  13. Mathematics
  14. Four Eyes
  15. People Help The People
  16. Clear Skies Ever Closer