Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

Sonic Youth

Evol (2015 reissue)



Released: 24th Jul 2015


lp + download

Released: 24th Jul 2015


The band's 3rd studio album, originally released in 1986, shows the first signs that the band was ready to transform their no wave past into a greater alternative rock sensibility.

Born out of the noise of New York's thriving-in-ugliness no wave scene & ensconced in the influence of Glenn Branca's avant-garde guitar experimentalism, their early albums slowly morphed from the snotty abrasive clatter of its self-titled EP & spotty first proper LP 'Confusion Is Sex' into a far darker but still somewhat inconsistent merging of haunted song sketches & foreboding noisy atmospheres on 2nd album 'Bad Moon Rising'. 'EVOL' found the band in a similarly eerie mindset, but this time the dark dreaminess of songs like 'Tom Violence', the tense instrumental 'Death to Our Friends' & the gorgeously restrained 'Shadow of a Doubt' are snapped into lockstep clarity by Steve Shelley's precise, tom-heavy drumming.

Evol (2015 reissue)


  1. Tom Violence
  2. Shadow of a Doubt
  3. Starpower
  4. In the Kingdom #19
  5. Green Light
  6. Death to Our Friends
  7. Secret Girl
  8. Marilyn Moore
  9. Expressway to Yr. Skull
  10. Bubblegum - CD & download Bonus Track