Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.


This Is A Long Drive For Someone With Nothing To Think About



Released: 11th Aug 2014


limited, indies only black & grey marble 2lp version

Released: 27th Oct 2014


out of stock

Modest Mouse’s 1996 debut album expands upon the themes of emotional & geographic isolation found in the band’s early recordings & finds the band mixing slow, brooding numbers with thrashing guitar workouts.

The general mood here is one of loneliness & desperation, eloquently expressed through both the lyrics & the rhythmic, sprawling instrumentation. Modest Mouse made their first significant mark here with songs whose meanings are simultaneously universal & painfully personal.

This Is A Long Drive For Someone With Nothing To Think About


  1. Dramamine
  2. Breakthrough
  3. Custom Concern
  4. Might
  5. Lounge
  6. Beach Side Property
  7. She Ionizes & Atomizes
  8. Head South
  9. Dog Paddle
  10. Novocain Stain
  11. Tundra / Desert
  12. Ohio
  13. Exit Does Not Exist
  14. Talking Sh*t About A Pretty Sunset
  15. Make Everyone Happy / Mechanical Birds
  16. Space Travel Is Boring