Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

Shemekia Copeland

America's Child



Released: 3rd Aug 2018


With ‘America’s Child’, Copeland confidently announces an electrifying new chapter in her constantly evolving story.

Produced by Americana Instrumentalist Of The Year winner Will Kimbrough (who also plays guitar on the album) and recorded in Nashville, ‘America’s Child’ is a courageous and fiery statement of purpose, a major step forward for the singer whose musical consciousness continues to expand as her star continues to rise. ‘America’s Child’ is by far Copeland’s most compelling work yet, with music swelling beyond blues and into spirited Americana, with elements of rock, soul, and country. With guests including John Prine, Rhiannon Giddens, Mary Gauthier, Emmylou Harris, Steve Cropper, J.D. Wilkes, Al Perkins and members of the Time Jumpers, America’s Child bursts with Copeland’s bravado and embraces with her tenderness. “America’s Child is a groundbreaking, genre-bending work of beauty. Shemekia is one of the great singers of our time. This record introduces listeners to another side of her, and I predict it will result in many new fans. Her voice on these songs is nothing short of magic”. - Mary Gauthier “Shemekia Copeland is the real deal. America’s Child goes deep and Shemekia’s voice—a national treasure—carries the songs effortlessly, whether topical, personal, spiritual, political or just plain raucous fun. Shemekia rears back her head and what comes out is humanity made vocal.” - Will Kimbrough “Copeland is a powerhouse, a superstar... she can do no wrong” - ROLLING STONE “Shemekia’s a ball-of-fire vocalist with a voice that’s part Memphis, part Chicago and all woman…devastatingly powerful. She’s a great singer, period.” – CHICAGO SUN-TIMES “Shemekia captures the timelessness of the blues while spinning it forward with remarkable maturity.” – USA TODAY

America's Child


  1. Ain’t Got Time For Hate
  2. Americans
  3. Would You Take My Blood?
  4. Great Rain
  5. Smoked Ham And Peaches
  6. The Wrong Idea
  7. Promised Myself
  8. In The Blood Of The Blues
  9. Such A Pretty Flame
  10. One I Love
  11. I’m Not Like Everybody Else
  12. Go To Sleepy Little Baby