Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

various artists

Negro Folklore From Texas State Prisons (2019 reissue)

moochin' about

lp + 22 page lyric book + download

Released: 18th Oct 2019


The recordings on this album were made in Texas prison farms in July 1964.

Bruce Jackson had gone there in the hope of recording black convict worksongs, a tradition that derived from slavery and, before that, was imported from Africa. Many of the prisons in Texas, Mississippi and Louisiana, where such songs had been sung, had been built on the sites of slaverytime plantations. It was as if the owners changed but not much else.  Bruce found far more than worksongs. Prison is a place where people live: when they go there, they bring with them pieces of free world culture, just as someone migrating from one country to another brings cultural knowledge and practice to the new home. In addition to the worksongs he heard spirituals, blues, toasts (recited poems) and much more. In this album he tries to give a sense of that range of material.  This iconic album has now been re-mastered and features original artwork in full.  LP Includes 22-page lyric book and digital download code for complete album.

Negro Folklore From Texas State Prisons (2019 reissue)


  1. Raise ’Em Up Higher
  2. Don't Look So Downhearted, Buddy
  3. Move Along ’Gator
  4. Three Moore Brothers
  5. Assassination of the President
  6. Don’t Be Uneasy
  7. Rattler
  8. Hammer Ring
  9. T.B. Bees
  10. If You See My Mother
  11. Just Like a Tree Planted by the Water
  12. See How They Done My Lord
  13. Daniel in the Lions’ Den
  14. Forty-four Hammers