Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

Galaxy Force II & Thunder Blade

OST (2020 reissue)


limited 180g YELLOW LP with obi strip + litho print

Released: 3rd Jul 2020


out of stock

For our tenth release in partnership with SEGA of Japan, we are excited to offer two arcade classics – Galaxy Force II (1988) and Thunder Blade (1987) – together for the first time ever on vinyl.

Composed by Koichi Namiki, Katsuhiro Hayashi and Tohru Nakabayashi, both soundtracks adopted an ambitious funk and fusion style, simulating an impressive range of real world instrumentation (think synthesizers, drums, slap bass and cowbells), which for its time and hardware limitations, is nothing short of astonishing. And yes, there’s even a coded slap bass solo. These two brief, but remarkable soundtracks each accommodate a single side of an LP, but work together seamlessly. Galaxy Force II includes a bonus arranged version of its leading track, Beyond the Galaxy, produced by Hiroshi “Hiro” Kawaguchi (composer of OutRun, Space Harrier) and features a full studio band, complete with brass section and a keyboard solo by Hiro himself. In addition, the Thunder Blade side includes three unused tracks.

OST (2020 reissue)


  1. Coin
  2. Scene Select
  3. Beyond the Galaxy
  4. Defeat
  5. Take Back
  6. Stage Clear
  7. Alone Fighter
  8. TRY-Z
  9. Name Entry
  10. Beyond the Galaxy ([H.] Arrange Ver.)
  11. Coin
  12. Thunder Blade
  13. Burning Point
  14. Round Clear
  15. Type II
  16. Name Entry
  17. Take Off (Unused)
  18. Primary Attach (Unused)
  19. In Conclusion (Unused)