Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.


original soundtrack

Silva Screen

limited sky blue / sunset orange 2lp

Released: 10th Jul 2020


out of stock

Francis Ford Coppola’s coming-of-age drama The Outsiders (1983) adapted S.

E. Hinton’s successful 1967 novel of the same name, using a young cast of rising stars (C. Thomas Howell, Tom Cruise, Matt Dillon, Rob Lowe, Emilio Estevez, Patrick Swayze, Ralph Macchio and Diane Lane) many of whom came to be known as the Brat Pack, defining a genre of 80’s films. The plot focuses on the rivalry between two gangs of teenagers in Tulsa, Oklahoma, one poor (Greasers), the other wealthier (Socs). Coppola’s ambition was to achieve the widescreen scope ‘of a teen Gone with the Wind’, and he asked his father, Carmine Coppola, to score the soundtrack. The result is epic and romantic, a return to a golden age of Hollywood film composing which suits the stylised and epic cinematography, becoming darker as the characters fulfil their tragic destinies. Stevie Wonder co-wrote and performed the song that plays over the credits, ‘Stay Gold’, which is included on this release. The inner sleeves feature extensive notes by Daniel Schweiger on the history of the film, the soundtrack and an insight into the Coppola father and son partnership.

original soundtrack


  1. Stay Gold (Performed by Stevie Wonder)
  2. Fate Theme
  3. Country Suite
  4. Cherry Says Goodbye
  5. Incidental Music 1
  6. Fight In The Park
  7. Bob Is Dead
  8. Deserted Church Suite
  9. Sunrise
  10. Fire At The Church
  11. Incidental Music 2
  12. Rumble Variation / Dallas’ Death
  13. Brothers Together
  14. Rumble
  15. Stay Gold (Alternate - performed by Stevie Wonder)
  16. The Outside In
  17. Stay Gold (Performed by Bill Hughes)