Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

ost : The Musical Anthology of His Dark Materials

The Musical Anthology of His Dark Materials by BBC TV (rsd 20)

Silva Screen

record store day 2020 - 2LP + art print

Released: 29th Aug 2020


The critically acclaimed HBO/BBC joint production based on the first book of Philip Pullman’s bestselling “His Dark Materials” trilogy hit UK TV screens on the 3rd of November and premiered in the US a day later.

The eight episodes enjoyed the biggest budget the BBC has ever lavished on a series and didn’t disappoint, bringing the strange parallel worlds of the trilogy sharply into focus, overcoming complexities of plot that the film The Golden Compass (2007) failed to do. Composer Lorne Balfe has assembled a superb, diverse, and devoted cast of performing artists for this concept driven release, including K T Tunstall, Chad Smith (Red Hot Chili Peppers), cellist Tina Guo (Hans Zimmer Live and The World of Hans Zimmer), post modern composer-cellist Peter Gregson, steam punk influenced violinist and dancer Lindsey Stirling, classical horn player Sarah Willis, BAFTA award winning composer, multi instrumentalist Richard Harvey and Vanya Moneva’s Ethnic Bulgarian Choir to present exquisitely crafted musical themes based on his soundtrack for the series.

The Musical Anthology of His Dark Materials by BBC TV (rsd 20)


  1. His Dark Materials
  2. The Alethiometer
  3. Lyra: The Child of Prophecy
  4. The Settling of a Daemon
  5. Scholastic Sanctuary
  6. The General Oblation Board
  7. The Life of Roger Parslow
  8. The Machinations of Lord Boreal
  9. A Gilded Cage
  10. The Strength of Gyptians
  11. A Plea to Fate
  12. The Legacy of Svalbard
  13. Mrs. M.Coulter
  14. The Magisterium
  15. The Path Foretold
  16. Release the Spy-Fly
  17. The Tales of Lee Scoresby
  18. The Compass Points North
  19. Will: The Knife Bearer
  20. The Witches of Lake Enara