Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

The Mighty Upsetter

Kung Fu Meets The Dragon



Released: 25th Feb 2013


out of stock

Recorded & produced by Perry at his own Black Ark Studios, this record notably features ace Jamaican polyinstrumentalist Augustus Pablo on melodica (& maybe keyboards as well), his gentle playing adding some otherworldly melodic content to the sparse sound.

'Kung Fu Meets the Dragon' is a martial arts-themed project, largely made up of instrumental versions of some of Perry's productions (Roy Shirley's 'Hold Them', Linval Thompson's 'Kung Fu') & other musical pieces, enriched with Perry's trademark use of percussion & production tricks such as phasing, dubbing, talkover etc. & inspired by the wave of martial arts movies that were popular at the time.

Kung Fu Meets The Dragon


  1. Theme From Hong Kong.
  2. Heart Of The Dragon.
  3. Hold Them Kung Fu.
  4. Flames Of The Dragon.
  5. Scorching Iron.
  6. Skango.
  7. Fungaa.
  8. Black Belt.
  9. Iron Fist.
  10. Kung Fu Man
  11. Rebels Dub.
  12. Enter The Dragon.
  13. The Dragon Enters.
  14. 23rd Dub.
  15. Black Belt Jones.
  16. Rockstone Dub.
  17. Exit The Dragon