Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

ras michael & the sons of negus



180g heavyweight lp

Released: 19th Jun 2013


out of stock

vinyl re-issue of the classic 1974 roots album specialising in the traditional jamaican rasta drumming style knows as nyahbinghi.

michael sticks pretty close to the traditional on this set, although on other releases he has grafted mainstream reggae, funk, rock & even electronica into the mix. the overall effect of the slow, pronounced drum patterns is definitely soothing & trance inducing. the most striking track is 'rise jah jah children', which builds around the refrain to 'the lion sleeps tonight', a big international hit for the tokens.



  1. Cool Babylon
  2. Rise Ja Ja Children (The Lion Sleeps)
  3. Pretty Little Face
  4. Carnal Mind
  5. Run Come (Throw Away Your Stoney Heart)
  6. Come Down (Pomps And Pride)
  7. Ja Got The Whole World
  8. Roll Over River Jordan
  9. Cast Them In The Fire
  10. Nyah Man Say
  11. Rasta Man Chant
  12. We're Marching Into Victory