Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

Various Artists : STUDIO ONE Rockers

presented by soul jazz records (rsd 20)

Soul Jazz Records

record store day 2020 - green 2LP

Released: 29th Aug 2020
Available: 29th Aug 2020 18:00


available as part of RSD drop #1, Saturday 29th august 2020

***this is a record store day 2020 release. Stock will be available on a 1st come 1st served basis, strictly 1 per customer. As we currently don’t know how we will be trading on each of these drop dates, please keep checking here for up to date info: We will fully celebrate these releases & will make them available to you safely, one way or another. All remaining stock for this drop will be made available online at 6pm, 29/08/20

Soul Jazz Records are releasing this 20th anniversary edition of their classic ‘Studio One Rockers’ on unique Record Store Day exclusive coloured vinyl.

This new edition is a one-off pressing exclusively for Record Store Day. Owned and founded by Clement "Coxsone" Dodd, Studio One's output serves as a comprehensive guide to the history of Reggae music. The music on Studio One Rockers covers all areas of Reggae such as Ska, Rocksteady, Roots and Dancehall, all areas in which Studio One led the field and has become the essential introduction to reggae fans throughout the world. Included in this compilation are classic Ska tracks (‘Phoenix City’), Rocksteady (‘Feel Like Jumping’), Roots music (‘Truth And Rights’), Dancehall (Freddy McGregor, Michigan and Smiley) and many more. Featured here are many of the classic tracks from Studio One. From Dawn Penn’s legendary ‘No, No, No’ to classics such as Horace Andy's ‘Skylarking’ and Marcia Griffith's ‘Feel Like Jumping’. "Compilation of the year. 100% Essential” - Time Out. "Compilation of the year. A compilation of unbelievable quality. Awesome” – DJ. "A who's who of Jamaican music” - The Times. "An essential slice of musical history" – Wire. "The most credible compilation of reggae you can buy” - The Guardian.

presented by soul jazz records (rsd 20)


  1. Sound Dimension – Real Rock
  2. Marcia Griffiths – Feel Like Jumping
  3. Freddy Mcgregor – Bobby Babylon
  4. Horace Andy – Skylarking
  5. Lennie Hibbert – Village Soul
  6. Brentford All-stars – Greedy G
  7. Johnny Osbourne – Truth And Rights
  8. Ernest Ranglin – Surfin’ Michigan & Smiley – Eye Of Danger
  9. Dawn Penn – No, No, No
  10. The Skatalites – Phoenix City
  11. Prince Jazzbo – Crabwalking
  12. Jackie Mittoo – Hot Milk
  13. Lone Ranger – Badder Dan Dem
  14. Cedric Brooks – Ethiopia