Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

various artists

No Cover: Carpark’s 21st Anniversary Covers Comp

carpark records

very limited indies only 2lp + download

Released: 19th Mar 2021

£21.99 £14.98

Carpark Records is celebrating its 21st anniversary! From its early days as an outlet for the growing IDMscene, to releasing the genre-defying music of over 60 artists, Carpark has a lot to boast about in its 21years of existence.

To honor this milestone, the label is releasingNo Cover: Carpark's 21st AnniversaryCovers Comp. The album features Carpark and imprint artists from all throughout Carpark's historycovering fellow labelmates and pushing the already eclectic music into exciting, new territory. Label founder Todd Hyman established Carpark Records in 1999 in New York City, focusing primarily onexperimental electronic music, including releases from artists such as Kid606 and Casino Versus Japan.When Carpark Records moved to the D.C. area in 2005, the label released music by numerous Baltimoreacts, perhaps most notably, Beach House and Dan Deacon, bringing new attention to the label. Later, the2009 single "Blessa" from Toro y Moi signaled the next chapter in Carpark's history. The label continuedto grow and released acclaimed albums by rock bands like Cloud Nothings and Speedy Ortiz. Holding onto the label's love for electronic music, Carpark released albums from Sklyar Spence (formerly SaintPepsi) and Young Magic. Now, the label continues towork with exciting bands across the world such asPalm, Madeline Kenney, and The Beths. Over the years, Carpark has also expanded into a larger family ofimprint labels such as Company Records with Chaz Bear (of Toro y Moi), Wax Nine with Sadie Dupuis (ofSpeedy Ortiz), Paw Tracks with Animal Collective, and Acute Records with Dan Selzer. These imprintshave been responsible for breakout albums by Animal Collective, Panda Bear, Ariel Pink, Tanukichan,Johanna Warren and re-issues of seminal works by Theoretical Girls and Glenn Branca. After 21 years of releases and tours, Carpark Records pays homage to its incredible roster with No Cover:Carpark's 21st Anniversary Covers Comp. The album is full of creative reinventions of various releasesfrom Carpark’s past. An energy-filled cover by Melkbelly of Dan Deacon’s “The Crystal Cat” opens thealbum, followed later by Sad13’s churning cover of Cloud Nothings’ “Psychic Trauma.” Johanna Warren’sfolk-leaning cover of the raucous, pop-rock song “Happy Unhappy” by The Beths, transforms the originalinto a solemn, gut-punching track. Skylar Spence and Fat Tony’s cover of “Ordinary Pleasure” by Toro yMoi is full of pop and disco flair, but holds onto the rhythm and expressiveness of its model.No Cover:Carpark's 21stAnniversary Covers Compis an exciting revisit, and reimagination, of iconic releases fromCarpark Records.

No Cover: Carpark’s 21st Anniversary Covers Comp

  1. Melkbelly - The Crystal Cat
  2. Skylar Spence, Fat Tony - Ordinary Pleasure
  3. The Mattson 2 - Forever, Until
  4. Sad13 - Pyschic Trauma
  5. Emily Rio - Gila
  6. Ed Schrader's Music Beat - Berlin Nites
  7. Rituals of Mine - Girl Like You
  8. Madeline Kenney - Pearly
  9. Erin Anne - Strawberry
  10. GRMLM - Hey Cool Kid
  11. Cloud Nothings - Villain
  12. Dan Deacon - Humbucker Blues
  13. Marumari - Less than Thou (Remix)
  14. Teen - Cut Me Off
  15. Montag - Rio
  16. Johanna Warren - Happy Unhappy
  17. Dent May - Saltwater
  18. Introverted Dacefloor - Now Is The Time of Emotion
  19. The Beths - Starsign
  20. Astronauts, etc. - Riddles