other titles...

Blue Hour (Classic Vinyl Series)
  1. I Want A Little Girl
  2. Gee Baby, Ain't I Good To You
  3. Blue Riff
  4. Since I Fell For You
  5. Willow Weep For Me

Stanley Turrentine With The Three Sounds

Blue Hour (Classic Vinyl Series)

Blue Note
  • 180g lp (stereo)

    Released: 17th May 2024


The pairing of tenor saxophonist, Stanley Turrentine, with The Three Sounds — the trio featuring pianist Gene Harris, bassist Andrew Simpkins, and drummer Bill Dowdy — on 1960’s Blue Hour produced one of most deeply soulful hard bop outings in the Blue Note catalogue.

A laid-back late-night affair highlighted by several seductive ballad performances.