other titles...

Various Artists
  1. Cameo - Word Up!
  2. Barry White - Sho' You Right
  3. James Brown - Living In America
  4. Maceo And The Macks - Cross The Tracks (We Better Go Back)
  5. Jackson Sisters - I Believe In Miracles
  6. Jermaine Jackson - Let's Get Serious
  7. Kool & The Gang - Get Down On It
  8. The Gap Band - I Don't Believe You Want To Get Up And Dance (Oops, Up Side Your Head)
  9. Alexander O'Neal - Fake
  10. Aretha Franklin - Freeway Of Love
  11. Sheila E. - A Love Bizarre (Pt. I)
  12. Oliver Cheatham - Get Down Saturday Night
  13. Freeez - Southern Freeez
  14. The S.O.S Band - The Finest
  15. Mtume - Juicy Fruit
  16. Dazz Band - Let It All Blow
  17. Sly Fox - Let's Go All The Way
  18. Flash and The Pan - Waiting For A Train
  19. Rockwell - Somebody's Watching Me
  20. Rick James - Super Freak
  21. Sly & Robbie & Shinehead - Boops (Here To Go)
  22. Level 42 - Lessons In Love
  23. Shakatak - Down On The Street
  24. Bobby Brown - My Prerogative
  25. Keith Sweat - I Want Her
  26. Pebbles - Girlfriend
  27. Natalie Cole – Pink Cadillac
  28. Jody Watley - Looking For A New Love
  29. René & Angela - I'll Be Good
  30. Vesta Williams - Once Bitten Twice Shy

NOW 80’s Dancefloor / R&B AND FUNK

Various Artists

  • limited red & white 2lp

    Released: 17th May 2024


This volume, featuring 30 tracks, presents the best from the era of R&B & Funk.

The first side opens with the era-defining ‘Word Up!’ from Cameo, followed by two legendary vocalists - Barry White with his ’87 smash ‘Sho’ You Right’, and James Brown with ‘Living In America’ from the ‘Rocky IV’ soundtrack. Although originally released in the ‘70s, the next pair were massive as ‘rare-groove’ classics and set dance-floors on fire in 1987 - Maceo And The Macks with ‘Cross The Tracks’ and the Jackson Sisters with ‘I Believe In Miracles’. Huge Chart hits from Jermaine Jackson, Kool & The Gang and The Gap Band close out Side A.

Side B finds its’ groove with two of the decades’ best from Alexander O’Neal with ‘Fake’ from his Jam & Lewis produced ‘Hearsay’ album and Aretha Franklin’s ‘Freeway Of Love’ from her superb album ‘Who’s Zoomin’ Who’, whilst the rest of this side features some of the slickest dance-floor fusions from Sheila E., Oliver Cheatham, The S.O.S. Band, and early 80s Britfunk from Freeez with the sublime ‘Southern Freeez’.

LP2 kicks off with a run of tracks that build on a foundation of funky R&B in conjunction with electronic beats and hooks – including ‘Let It All Blow’ from the Dazz Band, Sly Fox with the huge hit ‘Let’s Go All The Way’ and Rockwell with guest vocals from Michael Jackson on ‘Somebody’s Watching Me’. Funk pioneers Sly & Robbie & Shinehead scored their biggest crossover hit with ‘Boops (Here To Go)’, and UK Funk achieved major chart success for Level 42, and Shakatak.

The final side celebrates some of the decades’ new R&B superstars - Bobby Brown, and Jody Watley both achieved global success, Natalie Cole enjoyed a renaissance with ‘Pink Cadillac’ amongst other hits, and Keith Sweat, Pebbles, René & Angela and Vesta Williams are all featured with their signature floor-fillers.