other titles...

Margo Guryan

Take A Picture (2024 Reissue)

limited remastered "Sun Gold" LP - £24.99 | Pre Order
remastered black LP - £22.99 | Pre Order
'Take A Picture' is Margo Guryan’s one and only classic — one of record collecting’s real unheralded masterpieces — bright, bree...
Margo Guryan

29 Demos (2021 reissue)

limited gold 2lp in gatefold - £35.99
Margo Guryan's honeyed voice and gorgeously sweet songwriting has become a favorite of the soft-pop set As a successful songwriter, her compositions have be...
Words And Music


  1. If I Lose
  2. You Promised
  3. The Wise Man
  4. The Morning After
  5. Moon Ride
  6. More Understanding Than a Man
  7. More Understanding Than a Man (Instrumental)
  8. There I Was
  9. Kiss & Tell
  10. Half-Way In Love
  11. Goodbye July
  12. Four Letter Words
  13. Hurry On Home
  14. I Ought To Stay Away From You
  15. I Love
  16. Under My Umbrella
  17. I Don’t Intend To Spend Christmas Without You
  18. Sunday Morning
  19. Thoughts
  20. Love Songs
  21. Don’t Go Away
  22. Take A Picture
  23. Sun
  24. What Can I Give You
  25. Come To Me Slowly
  26. The 8.17 Northbound Success Merry-Go-Round
  27. Something’s Wrong With The Morning
  28. Think Of Rain
  29. Can You Tell
  30. Someone I Know
  31. Love
  32. Why Do I Cry
  33. Spanky And Our Gang
  34. Most Of My Life
  35. It’s Alright Now
  36. Timothy Gone
  37. The Hum
  38. Please Believe Me
  39. Yes I Am
  40. I Think A Lot About You
  41. I’d Like To See The Bad Guys Win
  42. Values
  43. California Shake
  44. Hold Me Dancin’
  45. Shine
  46. Goodbye July

Margo Guryan

Words And Music

  • limited "think of rain" 3lp with 32pp booklet

    Released: 7th Jun 2024

  • black 3lp with 32pp booklet

    Released: 7th Jun 2024

  • 2cd

    Released: 7th Jun 2024


Witness to revolutions in jazz and pop, Margo Guryan earned her place in the songwriting pantheon and then some.

That she was largely unknown for decades is not the stuff of crushed dreams, but a result of her own choices and priorities. From humble beginnings to the peaks of her 1968 baroque pop masterpiece Take a Picture and the collected Demos to the recent viral ubiquity of “Why Do I Cry”, Words and Music captures the entirety of Guryan’s career, featuring 16 previously unreleased recordings and a 32-page booklet telling the whole story.