Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.


1807: Musicas Retiradas Dos CDRs



Released: 8th Oct 2021


In what seems like some sort of cosmic alignment bound to happen, the ever prolific and somewhat elusive Niagara make their way into the Discrepant catalogue with '1807'.

Compiling tracks recorded between 2014 and 2018 that appeared scattered among very limited and long out of print self released CDRs, the record feels as much out of time as deeply resonant with these times with no dancefloors. Stripping away most of the beat based approach of early Príncipe releases and Ascender EPs, these 17 vignettes presented in the classic dance maxi 12" format dabble with escapism in a manner that projects them as potential DJ tools for lockdown. Deeply idiosyncratic, the trio from Loures shows an internal coherence that while not easy to grasp given their mutating creative impulses, weaves each different path into a sonic fiction all their own. Cobbled together from countless hours of jamming on warm spectral synths, field recordings, otherworldly textures or devious drum machines '1807' paints a vivid and dreamlike escape route that goes from the hypnotic arpeggios and rarefied synths of 'Esc8' through the glowing tones and fragmented melodies of 'Egyptiu' and into the malfunctioning swirl of the stark 'Esc 10' or the polluted 4/4 thump and funky guitar line of 'Mapas'. Equally disruptive and inviting. All tracks composed by Niagara between 2014 – 2018

1807: Musicas Retiradas Dos CDRs

  1. Pombal
  2. Esc8
  3. Egyptiu
  4. Mégane
  5. Esc4
  6. Lanterna
  7. Esc10
  8. Espuma
  9. Esc1
  10. 7
  11. Corsa
  12. Dacia
  13. A8
  14. Mapas
  15. Pena
  16. Esc12
  17. Ponta Delgada