other titles...

Only Darkness Now (2021 reissue)
  1. Behind the Spiderweb Gates
  2. In Solitude I Will Fade Away
  3. How My Heart Bled in Bleeding Heart Yard
  4. The Hill Was Hollow
  5. Shirt Of Lace



Only Darkness Now (2021 reissue)

Friendly Recordings
  • limited silver lp

    Released: 5th Nov 2021


With gliding viola & choral forces, Only Darkness Now is a more alive, peopled landscape than its predecessor.

Moods remain contemplative, concerned with vivid, historical netherworlds & torments – we see this in extended album centrepiece 'Behind the Spiderweb Gate' and in 'In Solitude I Will Fade Away'. However despite its title Only Darkness now has a brighter expanse: Cotton layers viola, chimes & Omnichord - an electrical ghost-like medieval drone, alongside percussion, harmonium, piano & voice. This is a confident record, lifting Shirt of Lace by medieval revivalist Dorothy Carter, from Celtic lament to cathedral like grandeur.