Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.



bear family

140g lp

Released: 13th May 2022


Almost logically, now comes a vinyl album dedicated to the Sun label ‐ highly individual, gritty, loud and wild, obscure stuff, no replicated hits.

If you trust the rare published resumes, Mack Stevens was born in the mid‐fifties in Corsicana, southeast of Dallas, Texas. His musical love is for original rockabilly, as it was MACK STEVENS & HIS IN THE GROOVE BOYS AIN’T THAT RIGHT RELEASE DATE: May 13, 2022 LABEL: BEAR FAMILY CAT NUMBER: BAF18030 FORMAT: 12 Vinyl LP PRICE: £ 16.99 GENRE: ROCK ‘N’ ROLL, ROCKABILLY BARCODE: 5397102180309 produced at that time when he came into the world, especially in Memphis by Sam Phillips for his Sun Records label in his Sun studio. It took a while to Mack Steven's first own release. In 1993, his debut album came out on Germany’s Eagle Records. Singles, LPs, CDs and even 78s followed for labels in France, Japan and, among others, the USA, where he was able to impress legendary rockabilly producer Ronny Weiser. Ronny released four CDs in the following three years on his Rollin' Rock label. Mack went on to record for Scana, Part, On The Hill, Hog Maw and his own Freedonia label. Mack Stevens has now recorded more than 500 songs, either rockabilly, hillbilly country or trashy blues. He enthusiastically collects original rockabilly records and had his own radio show, 'In The Groove'. Mack is and remains a purist. A flat note here and there or a playing mistake doesn't bother him. But he doesn't like it when guitarists think the rockabilly school started with the Stray Cats. Mack has been married to an Argentinean since 1998. Since then, he's been shuttling between the U.S. and South America, where these brutally good recordings were made for his homage to the 1950s 'Sun' Sound. Now, one might expect another soft‐spoken and trivial album of cover versions of the great Sun hits ‐ but not with Mack at the helm! He knows his way around the Sun Records catalog and has chosen some of the wildest and most obscure numbers for this album and his tough, often brutal and utterly emotional rehashing of the Sun story. It's wild, it packs a punch, yet exudes the charm of the originals with Mack Stevens' signature approach. Wild, authentic ‐ pure dramatic rockabilly with trashy blues touches!


  1. Ain't That Right
  2. So Doggone Lonesome
  3. Before Long Waltz 04 Boogie Blues
  4. I'm Sorry I'm Not Sorry
  5. Call Me Anything, But Call Me
  6. So Long I'm Gone
  7. Weeping Blues Side B)
  8. We All Gotta Go Sometime
  9. Lonesome Old Jail
  10. Everybody's Searching
  11. Right Or Wrong
  12. Every Night
  13. They Call Our Love A Sin
  14. The Time Is Right
  15. Tiger Man (King Of The Jungle)