other titles...

William Doyle

Great Spans of Muddy Time

limited 'pelican white' lp - £19.99 | Buy
An elegiac treatise on letting go, a wobbly pop masterpiece & quite likely the only album on this list inspired by Monty Don.

See also...

BC Camplight

The Last Rotation Of Earth

limited 140g cream lp - £23.99 | Buy
cd - £11.99 | Buy
Brian ‘BC Camplight’ Christinzio delivers yet another extraordinary & unique work of dark observational humour, splintered melodies & cerebr...

Boy From Michigan

2LP - £26.99 | Buy
deluxe 2lp in o-card - £51.99 | Buy
A tale that began in Michigan & was crystallised in Iceland, the compulsive over-sharer goes deep on this one (not that he’s exactly danced around sub...
Springs Eternal
  1. Garden of the Morning
  2. Now in Motion
  3. Relentless Melt
  4. Soft to the Touch
  5. Eternal Spring
  6. Cannot Unsee
  7. Castawayed
  8. Surrender Yourself
  9. A Short Illness
  10. A Long Life
  11. Because of a Dream

William Doyle

Springs Eternal

tough love
  • limited "eternal blue" lp + *signed print* (pre-order)

    Expected Release: 16th Feb 2024

  • limited "eternal blue" lp (pre-order)

    Expected Release: 16th Feb 2024

  • cd (pre-order)

    Expected Release: 16th Feb 2024


This constantly evolving Dinked alumnus is back with a gorgeous work of frenetic art-pop that has our John Grant / BC Camplight lobes purring.

Serving up art-pop for the anthropocene, 'Springs Eternal' is the Mercury-nominated William Doyle’s most ambitious and most playful creation to date. Taking a panoramic view of the ecstasies and agonies of life in the 2020s, the record asks how we exist as fragile flesh and blood – our hearts beating and our minds racing – in an unprecedented, almost unimaginable time of runaway climate destruction and technological expansion. 'Springs Eternal' presents a strange and thrilling cast of characters – from cowboys to castaways – who just might be Doyle, once or twice removed. “Most of the songs are in the first-person, but rather than being autobiographical, I was trying to imagine hyperreality versions of myself,” Doyle says. “What if decisions I made in my life had resulted in the self of each particular song? How many degrees of separation am I from those realities? It’s a frightening thought, and frightening thoughts often make for good songs.”

Across 11 tracks, we hear from narrators teetering on the precipice of global disaster, heartbreak, addiction, indoctrination and mental illness, until they pass into the great unknown. The lyrics, by turns earnest and ironic, upfront and allegorical, are paired with infectious melodies and often outright swagger. Co-produced by indie superproducer Mike Lindsay (Tunng, LUMP) at his MESS studio in Margate, we hear the siren song of the sea washing around pulsating electronics and stirring instrumentation, featuring contributions from musicians Alexander Painter, Genevieve Dawson and Brian Eno.

RIYL: Brian Eno, Robyn Hitchcock, Robert Wyatt, Euros Childs, Cleaners from Venus