Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

charles bradley

no time for dreaming




out of stock

expanded cd (2 bonus tracks)

Released: 28th Nov 2011


out of stock

an expanded edition of bradley’s 2011 album featuring versions of neil young’s ‘heart of gold’ & nirvana’s ‘stay away’.

although 62 years of age, this is the debut offering from florida-born, brooklyn raised soul man charles bradley. bradley’s remarkable voice has evolved from a lifetime of paying dues, having nomadically laboured for decades at various day jobs from maine to alaska – singing & performing in his spare time – before re-settling in his hometown brooklyn & eventually finding a musical home at daptone. in his distinctively rough-hewn timbre one hears the unmistakable voice of experience – each note & gruff inflection a reflection of his extended, sometimes rocky, personal path. as we’ve come to expect from daptone, this is the real deal, with extra grit & brilliant arrangements by producer thomas “tommy tnt” brenneck. “bradley has all the marks of the soul greats who have gone before him; the testifying smart of syl johnson, the grit & gusto of otis redding, the raw power of james brown, the smoulder & shudder of james carr” 4/5 – mojo.

no time for dreaming


  1. the world (is going up in flames)
  2. the telephone song
  3. golden rule
  4. I believe in your love
  5. trouble in the land
  6. lovin' you, baby
  7. no time for dreaming
  8. how long
  9. in you (I found a love)
  10. why is it so hard?
  11. since our last goodbye
  12. heartaches and pain
  13. heart of gold
  14. stay away