Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

Martin Carthy

Because It's There



Released: 21st Feb 2012


a re-release for the acclaimed 1979 solo recording from the magisterial martin carthy.

with his musical thinking enriched by a period with the folk-rock pioneers steeleye span, martin carthy approached this album (produced by ashley hutchings of fairport convention & steeleye span) with fresh ideas & new collaborators such as trumpeter howard evans & john kirkpatrick on accordion & concertina.

Because It's There


  1. Nothing Rhymed
  2. May Song
  3. Swaggering Boney
  4. Lord Randal
  5. Long John Old John And Jackie North
  6. Jolly Tinker
  7. Lovely Joan
  8. Three Cripples
  9. Siege Of Delhi
  10. Death Of Young Andrew