Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

Get The Blessing




Released: 5th Mar 2012


like similarly inventive acts tortoise & polar bear, the bristol-based 4-piece deftly plough their jazzy post-rock furrow.

from the upbeat rollicking title track that kicks off proceedings, to the lilting cinematic closer ‘pentopia’, ‘oc dc’ exudes energy & invention at every turn. as sax player jake mcmurchie suggests, “it's both more esoteric, more physical & more carefully crafted", whilst retaining the band's signature blend of strong melodic ideas, ferocious rhythmic hooks, tight compositional structures & freewheeling improvisations. a particular highlight is the unexpected guest cameo by legendary composer & musician robert wyatt – a delicious wordless chorale on the languid ‘american meccano’, recorded in a lincolnshire studio open to the sounds of birdsong & passing vehicles.



  1. OC:DC
  2. Americano
  3. Torque
  4. Adagio in Wot Minor
  5. Between Fear and Sex
  6. The Waiting
  7. Low Earth Orbit
  8. Pentopia