Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.


Heat Lightning Rumbles In The Distance

Play It Again Sam


Released: 10th Sep 2012


lp + download

Released: 10th Sep 2012


out of stock

Drive-By Truckers’ frontman / co-songwriter releases his 3rd solo album of southern rock, chronicling his own life.

one for fans of his other band (although this is, on the whole, more mellow & contemplative) or lovers of steve earle, bruce springsteen or the hold steady. "Eschewing the Truckers’ fat-bottomed & stalwart roots rock, Hood’s new songs brood & amble. His singing has the broken quality of a shamed confession. Luckily, none of this disrupts the sense of momentum in the songs." 4/5 - new york daily news. "an affecting lyrical record that makes you feel blessed for not having lived through it, but wiser, so grateful for the ride" 4/5 - Uncut (Best of the Month Americana).


Heat Lightning Rumbles In The Distance


  1. 12:01
  2. Leaving Time
  3. Disappear
  4. Better Off Without
  5. (untold pretties)
  6. After The Damage
  7. Better Than The Truth
  8. Betty Ford
  9. Depression Era
  10. Heat Lightning Rumbles In The Distance
  11. Come Back Little Star
  12. Fifteen Days (Leaving Again)