Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

Valgeir Sigurðsson

architecture of loss

bedroom community


Released: 24th Sep 2012



Released: 24th Sep 2012


on Valgeir’s 3rd album, The music flows from no “notes” at all to lyrical, folk-like melody, from spare, acoustic sound to dense digital intervention - The parameters of musical possibility are vast here.

Originally composed for a ballet by Stephen Petronio, this is a powerful work where Valgeir works from a broad palette of absences to create immersive headphone listening. the album also features composer/keyboardist Nico Muhly, classical violist Nadia Sirota (whose sound is deeply individual & works up intense atmosphere) & multi- instrumentalist Shahzad Ismaily (a secret weapon of a sideman who excels at exactly the things you can’t put down on paper, from solid grooves to scribbles of noise).


architecture of loss


  1. Guard Down
  2. The Crumbling
  3. World Without Ground
  4. Between Monuments
  5. Guardian at the Door
  6. Erased Duet
  7. Reverse Erased
  8. Big Reveal
  9. Plainsong
  10. Gone Not Forgotten