Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

ethan johns

if not now then when

three crows


Released: 4th Feb 2013


ltd 180g lp

Released: 5th Nov 2012


out of stock

featuring performances from Ryan Adams & Laura Marling (both of whom he has produced) as well as Danny Thompson, this is a gorgeous introduction to the singer/songwriter work of the famed producer.

his beautiful debut recalls variously willy mason, micah p hinson, nick drake, ryan adams & elliott smith with a touch of tom petty in the rockier tracks, & was Written by Johns in-between making albums for others. it features a broad range of musicians that he has produced & performed with over the years. Letting go of control & placing faith in the players - many of whom have entrusted his ears with their own work at times - was central to the sessions & the creative spirit of the album. John's father, legendary producer Glyn Johns, mixed the record. "a placid but gutsy amble that pitches him as Bill Callahan dealing with a lazy hangover the morning after a pub crawl with Guy Garvey" 8/10 - nme.

if not now then when


  1. Hello Sunshine
  2. Morning Blues
  3. Eden
  4. Red Rooster Blue
  5. The Turning
  6. Rally
  7. Don't Reach Too Far
  8. Whip Poor Will
  9. Willow
  10. The Long Way Round