Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

British Sea Power

Machineries Of Joy

Rough Trade Records


Released: 1st Apr 2013


lp + cd

Released: 1st Apr 2013


out of stock

described by singer Yan as "warm & restorative", the band's wonderful new album stretches back a decade to their debut, 'the decline of british sea power'.

written in the Berwyn mountains in north Wales & recorded in Brighton with Dan Smith & mixer Ken Thomas (David Bowie, Sigur Ros), Yanb says of the record : “Various things are touched on in the words - Franciscan monks, ketamine, French female bodybuilders turned erotic movie stars. The world often seems a mad, hysterical place at the moment. You can’t really be oblivious to that, but we’d like the record to be an antidote - a nice game of cards in pleasant company.” "They're pushing themselves forward again, but have made sure not to over-think things" - the 405.

Machineries Of Joy


  1. Machineries Of Joy
  2. K Hole
  3. Hail Holy Queen
  4. Loving Animals
  5. What You Need The Most
  6. Monsters Of Sunderland
  7. Spring Has Sprung
  8. Radio Goddard
  9. A Light Above
  10. Descending
  11. When A Warm Wind Blows Through The Grass