Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

john cale & friends

live at the ocean club, new york, july 21 1976


limited clear yellow lp

Released: 23rd Apr 2013


out of stock

a star-studded line-up of new york's finest back cale on this, almost unbelievably historic, performance from 1976.

the night of july 21 was a momentous and memorable one for downtown nyc music fans, as john cale, lou reed, patti smith, david byrne, allen lanier (of blue oyster cult), mick ronson (david bowie), and guitar guru chris spedding regaled fans with a slew of cale classics like ‘guts’, ‘buffalo ballet’ and ‘i keep a close watch’ as well as the velvets’ ‘i’m waiting for the man’, and the modern lovers’ ‘pablo picasso’ (which was produced by john cale for the modern lovers’ 1976 lp). and as if all this weren’t already enough, recording the performance was andy warhol himself! do not miss this slice of music history!

live at the ocean club, new york, july 21 1976


  1. Ghost Story
  2. Buffalo Ballet
  3. You Know More Than I Know
  4. Guts
  5. I’m Waiting For The Man
  6. Baby What You Want Me To Do
  7. I Keep A Close Watch
  8. Medley - The Jeweller, Gun & Pablo Picasso
  9. Cable Hogue