Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

Orange Juice

Rip It Up



Released: 3rd Feb 2014


out of stock

LP + download

Released: 20th Apr 2013


out of stock

edwyn collins moved further away from the pure pop sound of old & further into cross-rhythms & skinny-white-boy funk on orange juice's second album.

joined by malcolm ross (ex-josef k) & sublime percussionist zeke manyika, that the band was not wholly submerged or embarrassed by this bold move is a tribute to collins' skill as a songwriter as much as their musicianship. in truth, his world view was still dominated by romance & relationships, or the lack thereof, but he was finding ever more appealing avenues of expression to document his disappointments. the title track is the standout & gave collins a fleeting glimpse of the u.k. top ten when it was released as a single.

Rip It Up


  1. Rip It Up
  2. A Million Pleading Faces
  3. Mud In Your Eye
  4. Turn Away
  5. Breakfast Time
  6. I Can’t Help Myself
  7. Flesh Of My Flesh
  8. Louise Louise
  9. Hokoyo
  10. Tenter Hook