Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

Harry Nilsson

the essential


2cd (pre-order)

Expected Release: 16th Sep 2013


A missing element in Harry Nilsson's catalog is an excellent double-disc retrospective.

That's precisely what the 2013 compilation Essential Harry Nilsson provides: two discs that tell his story from beginning to end, hitting all the high points along the way. The first disc concentrates on his '60s work, chronicling the rise of Nilsson the maverick interpreter and songwriter; his original versions of "Cuddly Toy," "I Guess the Lord Must Be in New York City," and "One" are here, as are his breakthrough cover of Fred Neil's "Everybody's Talkin'" and several selections from the landmark Nilsson Sings Newman, plus such remarkable pieces of popcraft like "1941," "Good Old Desk," "Without Her," and "Me and My Arrow." The entire second disc is devoted to the '70s, beginning with the smash 1971 album Nilsson Schmilsson and its hits -- "Without You," "Coconut," "Jump in the Fire" -- plus the album-opener "Gotta Get Up." From there, hits, non-LP singles, and the occasional oddities pile up -- "You're Breakin' My Heart," "Spaceman," "Daybreak," his straight version of "As Time Goes By," "Kojak Columbo" -- tracing his majestic rise and being kind with his fall.

the essential


  1. 1941
  2. Cuddly Toy
  3. You Can't Do That
  4. Without Her
  5. Daddy's Song
  6. Good Old Desk
  7. Mr. Richland's Favorite Song
  8. Together
  9. Everybody's Talkin'
  10. One [Mono Single Version]
  11. Girlfriend [Remix]
  12. I Guess the Lord Must Be in New York City
  13. Rainmaker [Mono Version]
  14. I Will Take You There [Mono Single Version]
  15. The Puppy Song
  16. Vine Street
  17. Living Without You
  18. Life Line [Alternate Piano Take 13]
  19. Me and My Arrow
  20. Think About Your Troubles
  21. Gotta Get Up
  22. Without You
  23. Jump into the Fire [Single Version]
  24. Coconut
  25. I'll Never Leave You
  26. Old Forgotten Soldier
  27. Remember (Christmas)
  28. You're Breakin' My Heart
  29. Spaceman
  30. Daybreak [Single Version]