Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

la luz

it's alive

Hardly Art


Released: 17th Oct 2013



Released: 17th Oct 2013


out of stock

delicate, four-part harmonies delivered with a nuanced dose of perfectly timed exhilaration over surf twangs, jangly indie-pop & hazy dream pop.

From the first get-psyched drum roll & eerie chords of 'Sure As Spring', the dinged-up pop gem that opens the album, the rest moves like a slow drive on a dangerous road, slinking & bending as the terrain shifts. On 'What Good Am I?', the lead vocals & the swirl of harmonies that surround it, recall the Spartan haze of Mazzy Star’s misty-eyed super hit. Smack in the middle is the title track. 'It’s Alive' is a jangly rocker with a spooky refrain, oodles of ooohs & a marauding narrative that nails down the misty logic of the rest of the album. Two instrumentals, 'Sunstroke' & 'phantom Feelings', showcase the band’s beach jam surf chops.

it's alive


  1. Sure As Spring
  2. All the Time
  3. Morning High
  4. What Good Am I?
  5. Sunstroke
  6. It's Alive
  7. Big Big Blood
  8. Call Me in the Day
  9. Pink Slime
  10. Phantom Feelings
  11. You Can Never Know