Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

abdullah ibrahim

african piano



Released: 27th Jan 2014


180g lp

Released: 27th Jan 2014


'African Piano' was a highly influential album & it has lost none of its power - as can be heard on this CD reissue & new 180g vinyl album.

Both versions are released for the first time under the name Abdullah Ibrahim instead of the pianist’s original ‘Dollar Brand’ sobriquet. Sometimes a musical message is so urgent that questions of recording quality are almost beside the point. Informally recorded in 1969 in a noisy club - Copenhagen’s famous Jazzhus Montmartre - the flavour of this album is "documentary" rather than luxuriantly hi-fidelity, yet the essence of Abdullah Ibrahim’s communication comes through loud & clear. We are drawn into the robust rhythms of his solo piano style, as he reexamines the history of jazz from a South African perspective, with echoes of songs of the townships & vamps that hint of Monk & Duke & much more.

african piano


  1. Bra Joe From Kilimanjaro
  2. Selby That The Eternal Spirit Is The Only Reality
  3. The Moon
  4. Xaba
  5. Sunset In The Blue
  6. Kippy
  7. Jabulani - Easter Joy
  8. Tintiyana