Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

inventions (eluvium / explosions in the sky)


temporary residence


Released: 3rd Apr 2014


lp + download

Released: 3rd Apr 2014


Inventions is the new band formed by longtime friends, tourmates & labelmates Matthew Cooper of Eluvium & Mark T Smith of Explosions In The Sky - this is a dream duo for anyone familiar with the unparalleled emotional resonance of Cooper & Smith’s respective day jobs.

However, 30 seconds into their eponymous debut album, you realise that the esteemed pedigree is irrelevant. Inventions exceeds all expectations by discarding them from the get-go. They have created their own tiny, wondrous corner of the world, one with ever-changing sounds & colours.  Across 8 songs the duo explore the delicate & disturbing – & virtually everything in-between – with majestic abandon. It’s the kind of beauty & brilliance that only masters of their craft can accomplish when all egos and expectations are cast aside in pursuit of the splendour of sound. also for fans of Sigur Rós, Stars Of The Lid, Brian Eno or mountains.



  1. Echo Tropism
  2. Flood Poems
  3. Entity
  4. Luminous Insects
  5. Peaceable Child
  6. Sun Locations / Sun Coda
  7. Recipient
  8. Psychic Automation