Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

lee fields & the expressions

emma jean

truth & soul


Released: 9th Jun 2014


lp + download

Released: 9th Jun 2014


Making music for 45 years, this is Fields’ greatest triumph to date, celebrating soul music’s past whilst exploring its future.

They’ve pushed their sound in new directions, moving from being content as contemporary soul music royalty & instead delving into & exploring its next steps. There's a sharper wisdom in the songwriting, & the production & writing contribution of dan auerbach (the black keys) brings the welcome swagger of country soul & bluesy rock. Like past releases from this matchless pairing of Fields' warm-and-raw growl & The Expressions' switched-on & sharp musicianship, Emma Jean takes soul music in a familiar but updated direction. “Elmer ‘lee’ fields has been releasing records for 45 years, but surely none as good as this” 9/10 – uncut, “the faithful man making sure the future of real soul stays in good hands” 4/5 - mojo

emma jean


  1. Just Can’t Win
  2. Magnolia
  3. Paralyzed
  4. Standing ByYour Side
  5. Eye To Eye
  6. In The Woods
  7. All I Need
  8. Still Gets Me Down
  9. Talk To Somebody
  10. Stone Angel
  11. Don’t Leave Me This Way