Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

mirel wagner

When the Cellar Children See the Light of Day



Released: 11th Aug 2014


lp + download

Released: 25th Aug 2014


a defiant & unflinchingly brave record woven around the skeletal chords of the ethiopian-fin's acoustic guitar & the primeval darkness of her stripped back balladry - this is another astonishing record.

we fell for the hypnotic sound of her 2012 debut & Her songs continue to be like smooth, polished pebbles, thrown into a cold bottomless pond - drops of life that set the darkness rippling. electronic music producer Vladislav Delay (Luomo, Uusitalo) fleshes out Wagner’s sound, adding subtle production touches that give her songs a newfound vastness & gravity & the album also features Scottish composer Craig Armstrong (massive attack). if you're a fan of pj harvey's haunting 'white chalk', the oldy-worldy-country-folk of angel olsen's 'halfway home' or sharon van etten's sublime intimacy, you will surely be spellbound by wagner's sparse, ghostly sophomore. "a superb second outing...uncompromising, transcendent voodoo" 5/5 - mojo.


When the Cellar Children See the Light of Day


  1. 1 2 3 4
  2. The Dirt
  3. Ellipsis
  4. Oak Tree
  5. In My Father’s House
  6. Dreamt Of A Wave
  7. The Devil’s Tongue
  8. What Love Looks Like
  9. Taller Than Tall Trees
  10. Goodnight