Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

Simian Mobile Disco



CD + bonus disc

Released: 8th Sep 2014


2LP + cd + bonus disc

Released: 8th Sep 2014


an intriguing, live-recorded album that floats into the territory of the most cosmic german & italian synth explorers of the ‘70s & ‘80s, then takes flight into otherworldly techno grooves.

james ford & jas shaw created an entirely new electronic system for this album, & recorded everything entirely live, from scratch. limiting themselves to two suitcase-sized boxes – no laptops, no racks of hardware, just one synth & one sequencer each – they headed into the high desert of joshua tree national park in california & recorded ‘whorl’ in front of an audience. the result is something that takes you right into the heart of their creative processes, it’s not a sound that punches you in the face with its newness or weirdness – the album draws you in gently with the truly beautiful airborne, beat-free opening passage of ‘redshift’ & ‘dandelion spheres,’ & each track thereafter is subtle, rarefied & elegant.



  1. Redshift
  2. Dandelion Spheres
  3. Sun Dogs
  4. Hypnick Jerk
  5. Dervish
  6. Z Space
  7. Nazard
  8. Calyx
  9. Jam Side Up
  10. Tangents
  11. Iron Henge
  12. Casiopeia