Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

elephant micah

where in our woods

western vinyl


Released: 21st Jan 2015


lp + download

Released: 21st Jan 2015


deftly transforming the stuff of everyday American life into a series of entrancing meditations on culture, nature, religion & modernity, Joseph O'Connell's 12th Elephant Micah album (& the first for Western Vinyl), is defined by its limited palette.

Despite the project's almost secretive status, Elephant Micah has been repeatedly championed by an impressive cohort of like-minded artists including Jason Molina, Hiss Golden Messenger, Dark Dark Dark & Hurray for the Riff Raff. The arrangements foreground nylon-string guitar & an antique portable pump organ. A stripped-down drum set, a baritone ukulele, a toy recorder & harmony vocals (sung by Will Oldham, a friend of & key influence on O’Connell) round out the sound. This sparse ensemble leaves O’Connell’s voice room to breathe, while elevating & magnifying the poetry of his songs.

where in our woods


  1. By the Canal
  2. No Underground
  3. Albino Animals
  4. Slow Time Vultures
  5. Demise of the Bible Birds
  6. Monarch Gardeners
  7. Light Side
  8. Rare Beliefs