Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.


Sun Coming Down



Released: 18th Sep 2015


180g lp + download

Released: 18th Sep 2015


consistently, insistently propulsive but also unhurried & pleasantly unhyped, the Montréal quartet's discordant sophomore furthers their no-nonsense post-punk & the feverishly observational testifying of singer/guitarist Tim Darcy.

if you've been even half as obsessed with viet cong or protomartyr as we have, make sure this lot don't pass you by. 'Sun Coming Down' maintains the band's tight, twitchy & economical sound, with the unfussy, understated rhythm section of drummer Tim Keen & bassist Ben Stidworthy anchoring Tim Darcy's electric guitar & Matt May's fuzzed-out keys. Ought pursue an artistically apposite austerity in committing these new songs to tape, referencing the arid & unvarnished production of no-wave & early indie rock while balancing carved-out angularity against an evolving comfort with textural coalescences & measured pacing.


Sun Coming Down


  1. Men For Miles
  2. Passionate Turn
  3. The Combo
  4. Sun's Coming Down
  5. Beautiful Blue Sky
  6. Celebration
  7. On The Line
  8. Never Better