Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

girl band


Rough Trade


Released: 25th Sep 2015


out of stock

lp + download

Released: 25th Sep 2015


vital, propulsive & terrifyingly energetic noise-rock, this young Dublin foursome's debut album pulls as much influence from classic techno as from their more obvious post-punk, noise & industrial predecessors.

Recalling any number of things but for only milliseconds at a time, Girl Band make a mockery of comparisons, because you can only get as far as “oh this bit sounds like—” before a guitar scuff-screams, the bass crunches like a car in a bailing press, or something else visceral & glorious comes from the speakers & the thought’s erased. these 9 tracks capture the tension & abrasive energy of a Girl Band performance (which already have something of a legendary status). if you need reference points, try nirvana's 'in utero' or the birthday party & more recently, metz or protomartyr.....& then scrap those & just stick this on full blast (but maybe wait for your neighbours to go out first!). "poised, nuanced & manicured noise...delivered with flair, imagination & real intent" - the quietus.




  1. Umbongo
  2. Pears For Lunch
  3. Baloo
  4. In Plastic
  5. Paul
  6. The Last Riddler
  7. Texting An Alien
  8. Fucking Butter
  9. The Witch Doctor