Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.





Released: 12th Feb 2016


the malian singer, songwriter & multi-instrumentalist's 6th album was produced by John Parish (PJ Harvey, Tracy Chapman), who also produced her stunning 2013 record, 'Beautiful Africa'.

effortlessly blending the sounds of Mali with blues, rock, jazz & folk, the range of her powerful & emotional voice is remarkable, sitting atop a range of songs from up-tempo guitar-led pop to haunting & melancholy ballads. here, Rokia turns to friends John Paul Jones (Led Zeppelin), & labelmate Devendra Banhart to help her express her deep sadness at the state of turmoil in her native Mali. Lamenting her homeland’s loss of life, culture & traditions, Rokia draws us in with a striking translation from emotion to song, including transcriptions of some of Toni Morrison’s prolific writings. 'NÉ SO' features 10 original songs & a cover of Billie Holiday's 'Strange Fruit'.




  1. Tu Voles
  2. Obikè
  3. Kènia
  4. Amour
  5. Mayé
  6. Ilé
  7. Ô Niélé
  8. Kolokani
  9. Strange Fruit
  10. Né So
  11. Sé Dan