Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

The Jayhawks

Paging Mr. Proust



Released: 29th Apr 2016


lp + download

Released: 29th Apr 2016


as if the return of the classic lineup that made ‘rainy day music’ isn’t enough, the Minneapolis icons return here bolstered by the production power of peter buck, tucker martine and gary louris.

buck’s influence is especially pronounced in places with the band bringing to mind the dust of long dead stars in places, but it’s still firmly the jayhawks. the harmonies are killer too – their wandering and meandering melodies that pin down ‘pretty roses in your hair’ a particular standout, before the euphoric kick when the electric guitar finally kicks in takes it to another level. “keening harmonies and heartbreaking melodies” – 4/5 q magazine

Paging Mr. Proust


  1. Quiet Corners & Empty Spaces
  2. Lost The Summer
  3. Lovers Of The Sun
  4. Pretty Roses In Your Hair
  5. Leaving The Monsters Behind
  6. Isabel's Daughter
  7. Ace
  8. The Devil Is In Her Eyes
  9. Comeback Kids
  10. The Dust Of Long Dead Stars
  11. Lies In Black & White
  12. I'll Be Your Key