Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

Oumou Sangare


world circuit

record store day exclusive 2016 - 180g LP + download

Released: 16th Apr 2016


Deluxe release for Record Store Day 2016 - Now for the very first time World Circuit are releasing this iconic album on deluxe single vinyl.

Mastered at Abbey Road the vinyl is pressed on 180 gram heavyweight vinyl and presented alongside a beautiful 10 page booklet and download card. In 1989 Oumou Sangare, a young singer from the Wassoulou region of southern Mali, went to the JBZ studio in Abidjan, Cote d'Ivoire to record her debut album. Except for electric guitar and bass, the line-up was traditional – kamalengoni or 5-string 'youth's harp', karinyang (iron scraper) and violin (substituting the local one-string fiddle). The music they recorded was exactly the kind of music performed by hunters to charm the wild animals and invoke the protecting spirits, but with updated lyrics reflecting the concerns of young women living in African cities today.



  1. Djama Kaissoumou
  2. Diaraby Nene
  3. Woula Bara Diagna
  4. moussolou
  5. Diya Gneba
  6. Ah Ndiya