Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

Weyes Blood

Front Row Seat To Earth


lp + download

Released: 21st Oct 2016


On her thoughtful new album, Natalie Mering combines a West-Coast folk/AM radio vibe, delectable band arrangements and subtle production flourishes to knock-out effect.

She embeds her sublime songs in a harmonic gauze of arpeggiated piano, acoustic guitar, druggy horns, and outer space electronics. There is a faded California beauty to it all - sweet-spooky harmonies, the pulsing sway of the vibrato and ecstatic chord resolves. This is tasteful, delicately enunciated, sun-dappled pop, to luxuriate in, establishing Mering on the list of today’s brilliant female artists like Angel Olsen, Julia Holter, Jessica Pratt and Deradoorian. "Natalie Mering’s voice is at once comforting and unique, dramatic but never overbearing. There is an elegant lilt to her delivery, evocative of a different era of popular music altogether. As Weyes Blood, she crafts emotional epics that masquerade as psych-folk ballads, subtly symphonic songs that are informed by yesterday but live and breathe right now."  Pitchfork

Front Row Seat To Earth

  1. Diary
  2. Used to Be
  3. Be Free
  4. Do You Need My Love
  5. Generation Why
  6. Can't Go Home
  7. Seven Words
  8. Away Above
  9. Front Row Seat